Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture

Welcome to DuValin, breeder of Wirehaired Pointing Griffons - Korthals Dogs

News and happenings at DuValin Kennel

Dont miss our Blog for all the latest news of our kennel: nouvellesdeelevageduvalin.blogspot.com

November 6-7, 2010
Stade Olympique, Montréal. This was the last participation in 2010 for Excel in conformation. After having handled her without success (my fault) on Saturday, I yield: HELP! Again, a good friend heard: Claire Mathieu. Results: Best of Breed! Thanks a lot Claire. Excel now has 9/10 points towards her Champion title. Wait until next year.
October 24, 2010
Expo-Cité Québec- A new obedience title for Excel : CD – Novice A. This after obtaining a BOB and a Group 4. Lots of emotion! This great achievement in conformation is due to my good friend M. Jean Lisi who showed Excel exceptionally well. Big thanks Jean! See pictures under: Conformation photos.

August 5, 2010
Flèche gave birth to 8 puppies. Two of them are females. Whelping was very long and she got tired a lot. All is fine now and the pups are being taken care of really well.

July 17th, 2010
After 3 non qualifying scores in Novice A class, Excel finally focused long enough to go throught her first obedience test in Anse St-Jean. To top it all, she obtained the highest score for this test (HIT). I should say that dragonflies and friends sitting in the stages were much more interesting than me.
July 2010
July Our nice little Flèche est pregnant! Litter is due for August 9, 2010.Sire is Toulouse.

June 20th, 2010
We are just coming back from a journey in France where we attended the Club du Griffon Korthals Nationale d’Élevage (http://www.griffonkorthals.fr/fr/expos/ne/resultats/neresult.php). The show took place in Gambais, 50 kilometres from Paris, at the Neuville castle.

Our cousins know how to do things but a Nationale doesn’t look what we are used to in America.

The registry showed 135 griffs: mostly names we are used to see on our new pedigrees or magazines. My breeder – Gilles Jouet from Des Bords du Dan – happily surprised me when he offered me to show a dog at the Nationale : Targa des Bords du Dan who is Excel’s mother, my last import. Targa is from Mader des Bords du Dan and Mina des Bords du Dan.

6 rings were settled and 3 different categories were assigned at each ring. The judge screens carefully each dog. Mine was mister Lasvergnas. First step: comparison of all dogs between each other as a group and verbal approval of what he sees. Then, each dog is carefully measured with the special rule. Any measurement higher of lower than standard is severely penalized. From there, judge dictates his evaluation to a secretary seated near him. Every points of the standard are noted: muzzle length and width – ear positioning – skull length – soundness – body length – etc… Everything is written down and a copy is handed immediately after the judging. Next step, after this individual screening, is the “merry go round” time! We run! The judge stops us from time to time and asks handlers to change position as he wishes. Targa – a trialer – was prettier when I let her run fast. So, at the second turn, I let her run wide and I went up one position! … but ouf! Did I run! Result: an EXCELLENT and a 4th place. Not bad for an 8 year old dog still in great shape!

See the pictures in: trip album.

This trip comforted me about choosing Des Bords du Dan 12 years ago. Combined with La Réoté and Des Rives de l’Aure, I still can detect the griffon type I like and cherish.

Until the next time, many memories will keep me focused on my goal.

Hope you liked this little “résumé”. If you have any specific question, don’t hesitate to call or write.

Following the Nationale, a week in the beautiful city of Strasbourg was all we needed to end these great vacations. Restos and wines are hum!!!! delicious!

February 20 and 21, 2010
Holliday Inn, Saguenay. Club Canin du Fjord

Placeholder Picture

Conformation - Fun Match
First time for Excel des Bords du Dan. She is 9 month old..
Results: BPIM (Best Puppy in Match) and BIM (Best in Match)
Big thanks to Miss Valérie Arial, judge. She is the first to recognize the qualities of this little furry ball.

CGN test ( Canine Good Neighbour) – Canadian Kennel Club.
Excel des Bords du Dan and DuChasseur Flèche DuValin obtained their titles with success!
Big thanks again to Miss Hélène Gauthier, judge. Her comments and good mood were highly appreciated.

Obedience test – Fun Match
First time for Excel des Bords du Dan
Class: Pre-novice Result: Qualified

This week-end was wonderful! Lots of people came to talk with us. Congratulations to Club Canin du Fjord for putting together such big event. All comments heard were positive.

Another good note is that I can feel how griffs are growing nicely with popularity. Job well done!
February 19, 2010
The worse scenario happened: from an X-ray taken, confirmation is that Flèche is not pregnant. Already, we must think of all those who had so much hope in the arrival of this new pup in the home. Where is the mistake? Difficult to find... A procedure has been decided regarding the next heat around May 20. Smear - progesterone tests - artificial insemination: everything will be done!
DuValin kennel is very sad and swear this situation won't happen again!
Meanwhile, alternative solutions have been offered to our clients. We won't let them down.
To all, please receive our sincere sympathies!

January 10, 2010
Flèche and Toulouse have been bred this week-end. Whelping expected durant the first week of March. News to follow!

Decembre 26th, 20009
Flèche is in heat! Youpi! She will be bred to Toulouse around January 8th, 2010. Whelping expected sometimes around March 10, 2010. see pedigree for the upcoming litter

November 29, 2009
We just bought a nice 4-places dog trailer. With many dogs to carry around to training fields and other activities, my Jeep couldn't handle more. You can see it by clicking here: trailer. It is a stainless trailer, safe, ventilated and lights included and, most of all, it is already used to griffs. Thanks to Alain LeBon for letting me have this nice toy.

Placeholder Picture

November 4, 2009
We have made our mind on our first litter ever. Toulouse des Bords du Dan and DuChasseur Flèche DuValin will be mated in mid-December. Both are color tested KbKb, which means that they cannot produce undesirable pattern or color. Official announcement will be posted on the AQGPD wetsite and AWPG Le Griffonnier's journal sometimes around December 15, 2009. There is already 2 official reservations on this litter that we consider as high quality. Toulouse reputation is well known and Flèche, carrying an excellent wirehaired coat, is an avid hunter.

October 28, 2009
This weekend, I attend the "Salon National des Animaux de Compagnies" in Québec city. I expected to earn this last point for Flèche toward her canadian championship. Unfortunately for me! The second and only griff was DuChasseur Raclette. We did 0 point but I learned a lot about handling. We'll see next Spring!

October 21st, 2009
Excel (5 months 1/2) just started obedience classes and she is doing great! Anyway, what would a baby do for cheese?

July 18th, 2009
We've been waiting for her for 4 years!. She is here now: EXCEL DES BORDS DU DAN (whelped: May 6th, 2009). For more info about her: visit her page

Éleveur de chiens griffon d'arrêt poil du Korthal, Quebec, Canada | 2009©2016 | ADN Informatique

Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture

Bienvenue chez DuValin, élevage de Griffons d'Arrêt Poil Dur Korthals

Nouvelles de l'Élevage de Griffons d'arrêt à poil dur Korthals DuValin

Voir notre Blog pour les toutes dernières nouvelles de l'élevage: nouvellesdeelevageduvalin.blogspot.com

6-7 novembre 2010
Stade Olympique, Montréal, avait lieu la dernière participation d'Excel en conformation pour 2010. Après un maniement désastreux de ma part le samedi, j'ai crié: AU SECOURS! Encore une fois, une bonne amie - Claire Mathieu - est venue à mon secours. Résultat: Best of Breed! Merci beaucoup Claire. Excel a maintenant 9 points sur 10 vers l'obtention de son titre de Champion. Ce sera pour l'an prochain.

24 octobre 2010
Expo-Cité Québec- Nouveau titre pour Excel des Bords du Dan en obéissance : elle a obtenu un CD (Novice A) le dimanche 24 octobre. En même temps, ce dimanche après-midi, elle a obtenu un BOB et un placement de groupe 4. Que d’émotions! Cette magnifique performance a été obtenue grâce à M. Jean Lisi (mon bon ami) qui a présenté Excel de façon exceptionnelle lors de cet événement. Gros gros merci Jean! Voyez les photos sous : Photos de compétition de conformation.

5 août 2010
Flèche a donné naissance à 8 beaux chiots dont 2 sont des femelles. L'accouchement a été très long et difficile pour elle. Mais tout est rentré dans l'ordre et elle prend soin de ses chiots magnifiquement.

17 juillet 2010
Après 3 essais infructueux in classe Novice A, Excel a finalement réussi à se concentrer assez longtemps pour réussir son premier test en obéissance à l'Anse St-Jean. Comble de chance, elle obtient le plus haut pointage pour ce test (HIT). Il faut dire que les libellules et les amis dans les estrades ont bien plus attiré son attention que moi.

juillet 2010
Notre belle Flèche est gestante! Les chiots sont attendus vers le 9 août 2010. Le papa est Toulouse.

20 juin 2010
Nous arrivons tout juste de la France où nous sommes allés à la Nationale d’Élevage du Club du Griffon Korthals français (http://www.griffonkorthals.fr/fr/expos/ne/resultats/neresult.php). L’événement se déroulait à Gambais, à 50 kilomètres de Paris, au château de Neuville.

Nos cousins savent faire les choses mais le déroulement d’une nationale d’exposition pour griffons ne se déroule pas selon ce que nous sommes habitués ici en Amérique.

Il y avait 135 griffons inscrits : pour la plupart tous des noms qu’on peut reconnaître dans nos jeunes pedigrees ou revues. Mon éleveur – Gilles Jouet de l’affixe Des Bords du Dan – m’a agréablement surprise en m’offrant l’opportunité de présenter un chien lors de cette Nationale soit : Targa des Bords du Dan qui est la mère d’Excel, ma dernière acquisition. Targa est le produit de Mader des Bords du Dan et Mina des Bords du Dan.

Il y avait 6 « rings » préparés et les différentes catégories (3 en moyenne) étaient assignées à un « ring ». Chaque chien est évalué méthodiquement par le juge : le mien était monsieur Lasvergnas. Première étape : il compare les chiens entre eux et donne déjà son appréciation de ce qu’il voit. Ensuite chaque chien est mesuré à l’aide d’une règle conçue à cet effet. Tout écart de hauteur par rapport au standard est pénalisé. Ensuite, le juge dicte son appréciation de chacun des points du standard à une personne qui fait office de secrétaire. Tout y passe : longueur et largeur du museau – position des oreilles – longueur du crâne – posture – longueur du chien – etc.… Tout est noté et nous recevons une copie du document immédiatement. Lorsque tous les chiens ont été évalués, c’est le carrousel. On court! M. le juge nous arrête et nous déplace selon ce qu’il apprécie. Targa – étant un trialer – était plus belle lorsque je la laissais prendre de la vitesse. Au deuxième tour, je suis montée à la quatrième place! … mais ouf! Que j’ai couru! Résultat : un EXCELLENT et une 4ième place. Pas mauvais pour une femelle de 8 ans, toujours très en forme!

Voyez les photos dans l’album de voyage.

Cette visite m’a permis de confirmer mon choix de l’affixe Des Bords du Dan. Avec celui de La Réoté et Des Rives de l’Aure, le type de griffon que j’affectionne est parfaitement établi.

Jusqu’à la prochaine rencontre, les images de ces magnifiques barbus resteront un sujet d’encouragement pour moi.

J’espère que vous avez apprécié ce petit résumé. Si vous avez des questions spécifiques, n’hésitez pas à écrire ou à téléphoner.

Pour terminer ces belles vacances, quoi de mieux que de passer une semaine dans la magnifique ville de Strasbourg en Alsace. Les restaurants et le vins y sont hum!!!!! succulents…

11 avril 2010 – Club Canin de l’Estrie – Sherbrooke
Ch DuChasseur Flèche DuValin est maintenant championne canadienne. Merci à madame Valérie Arial qui su mettre en évidence les qualités de notre belle Flèche et en la présentant avec succès!

20 et 21 février 2010
Holliday Inn, Saguenay , Club Canin du Fjord

Placeholder Picture

Concours en conformation – Fun Match
Première sortie d’Excel des Bords du Dan. Elle a 9 mois.
Résultat : BPIM (Best Puppy in Match) et
BIM (Best in Match)
Gros gros merci à madame Valérie Arial, juge. Elle est la première à reconnaître les qualités de cette petite boule de poil.

Concours BVC ( Bon Voisin Canin) - Club Canin Canadien.
Excel des Bords du Dan et DuChasseur Flèche DuValin passent le test avec succès!
Gros merci à madame Hélène Gauthier, juge. Ses commentaires et sa bonne humeur ont été hautement appréciés.

Concours d’obéissance – Fun Match
Première participation d’Excel des Bords du Dan
Catégorie : Pré-novice Résultat : Qualifiée

Ce fut une fin de semaine du tonnerre! Beaucoup de gens sont venus nous voir à notre kiosque. Félicitations au Club Canin du Fjord pour l’organisation d’un tel événement. Les commentaires sont tous positifs.

Sur une autre note, je constate à quel point le griffon a évolué dans sa popularité. Mission accomplie!
19 février 2010
Le pire scénario se produit: à la suite d'une radio, nous confirmons que Flèche n'est pas gestante! Tout de suite, il faut penser à toutes ces personnes qui ont mis tant d'espoir dans l'arrivée de ce nouveau chiot dans leur demeure. À quel endroit y a-t-il eu erreur? Difficile à cerner... Un protocole de suivi a été mis en place pour les prochaines chaleurs autour du 20 mai 2010. Frottis - progestérone - insémination artificielle: tout y passera!
L'Élevage DuValin est bien triste et promet de mettre tout en oeuvre pour qu'une telle situation ne se reproduire plus!
En attendant, plusieurs solutions de rechange ont été offertes à tous nos clients. Nous ne les laisserons pas tomber.
Nos sincères sympathies à toutes les personnes impliquées!

10 janvier 2010
Flèche et Toulouse ont été accouplés en fin de semaine. La portée devrait naître dans la première semaine de mars 2010. À suivre!

26 décembre 2009
Flèche débute ses chaleurs! Youpi! Elle sera accouplée à Toulouse autour du 8 janvier. Naissance prévue vers le 10 mars 2010.
Voici le pedigree des chiots de cette portée

29 novembre 2009
Nous avons fait l'acquisition d'une magnifique remorque pour chiens 4-places. Avec plusieurs chiens à trimbaler lors des entraînements et différentes sorties, mon Jeep ne suffisait plus à la tâche. Vous pouvez le voir en cliquant ici: trailer. Il est tout en stainless, sécuritaire, avec ventilation et lumière, et surtout, il est déjà habitué aux griffons. Merci à Alain LeBon qui m'a permis d'acquérir ce beau joujou.

Placeholder Picture
Témoignages:

4 novembre 2009
La décision est prise d'annoncer la première portée de l'Élevage DuValin. Toulouse des Bords du Dan et DuChasseur Flèche DuValin seront accouplés vers la mi-décembre 2009. Les deux sont testés KbKb pour le gène, ce qui signifie qu'ils ne peuvent transmettre de couleur indésirable. Le sortie officielle de l'annonce se fera par le biais du site Internet de l'AQGPD et du journal Le Griffonnier de l'AWPG vers le 15 décembre 2009. Déjà, 2 réservations sont officielles sur cette portée que nous considérons comme de qualité supérieure. La réputation de Toulouse n'est plus à faire et Flèche, en plus d'un poil excellent et très dure, est une chasseuse accomplie.

28 octobre 2009
En fin de semaine, avait lieu le Salon National des Animaux de Compagnies à Québec. Je m'y suis rendue avec ma petite Flèche pour tenter de compléter son championnat canadien. Malheur à moi! Le seul autre griffon représenté n'était nulle autre que DuChasseur Raclette. Je n'ai pas fait un seul point mais j'ai beaucoup appris du point de vue : maniement. Partie remise au printemps 2010.

21 octobre 2009
Excel (5 mois 1/2) débute ses cours d'obéissance et ça va super bien! Qu'est-ce qu'un bébé de 5 mois ne ferait pas pour du fromage?

18 juillet , 2009
Depuis 4 ans que nous l'attentions: EXCEL DES BORDS DU DAN (née le: 6 mai 2009) est finalement arrivée! Pour plus d'informations sur Excel visitez sa page

Éleveur de chiens griffon d'arrêt poil du Korthal, Quebec, Canada | 2009©2016 | ADN Informatique